ETO/Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority 60th Chapter Charter Day

ETO’s Sweet Sixteen Charter Members

On February 10, 1962, sixteen phenomenal women chartered the Eta Tau Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. in the small town of Ocala, Florida. Their names are Lakay Banks, Alberta Brown, Dorothy Brown, Nancy G. Coleman, Susie Collins, Miriam Hampton, Elois Hart, A . Pearl Jackson, Beatrice A. Johnson, Juanita Jones, Bernice Lewis, Eva L. Long, Catherine Mickle, Eula B. Miller, Thelma Richardson, and Edna G. Simmons. The meeting took place at Hampton’s home, which still remains off of State Road 40 (described as the gateway into the city).

Today, the chapter is sixty years strong. The bond of sisterhood and service has not waivered. With nearly sixty active members, including charter members Coleman and Simmons, we continue to strive and do in our service to God and mankind.

On Saturday, we will celebrate the continuity of their extraordinary legacy. If you are a sister, a member of the Divine Nine, or a friend, you are welcome to join the celebration.

Local Founders’ Day Committee



#60AKAETO 💗💚

Leave a Reply